Grouping line items can be beneficial for many reasons! Maybe you want to organize your line items into folders by room, or you might be making a custom chair and need to group together the components of that chair so that your client only sees the chair and not its components. Whatever it may be, you can make it happen with groups!

Watch this video to learn how to group line items: 


You have two options after you group the items: 

  1. Enable the "Allow client to view group contents" option. This will make the group act as more of a folder where the client can open it and see the line items contained within the group.
  2. Disable the "Allow client to view group contents" option. This will make the group act as a mask for the contained line items, so that it looks like just one line items to your client. The client will not be able to click to open the group and see the line items within the group. They won't even know it's a group.

You are not able to add items to an existing group. You would need to first delete the group (it ungroups the line items) and then re-group with all of the line items you want to include in the group.  To do this, you will need to enter Manage mode on the invoice/proposal and then you should see the groups and each group should say "Edit" on it. 

If you click "Edit" on the group, you'll get a pop-up window to edit the group. You can then click "Delete Group".

Did this answer your question?