The option to close a document can be found in the top right corner of the document if you have enabled the "Approval per line item" option. 

Essentially what it does on a proposal is decline all of the line items for you so that the total is $0 and then it changes the status of the proposal to "closed". You can always reopen a closed proposal by clicking "Reopen" in the top right corner of that proposal.

Did this answer your question?